Crockpot BBQ Chicken

meal

Yum!

 

Some of our favorite meals are crockpot meals.  I LOVE cooking with the crockpot.  It just feels good to know that my dinner is simmering away while I’m sleeping, cleaning the house, watching TV, or whatever.  I recently made cabbage roll soup, which we loved, and stuffed pepper soup is another favorite.  But today I have Crockpot Chicken BBQ for a Crowd in the crock, and I thought I’d share it here.

I got this recipe from Sisterhood of the Sensible Moms.  I added a few of my own touches.  Because that’s how I roll.

 

6 cubed boneless, skinless chicken breasts or thighs (I brown mine in a little butter)

2 cups chopped celery

1 cup chopped onions

1 cup chopped bell peppers

1 tbsp minced garlic

4 Tablespoons butter

2 cups ketchup

2 cups water

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/4 cup white vinegar

2 teaspoons dry mustard

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

Sprinkle with garlic salt and Nature’s Seasons

Directions

Stir all the ingredients together in a crockpot. Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. We usually shred the chicken with two forks before serving on buns, tortillas (with shredded cheese), on top of salad greens, or over rice.

It’s delicious.  It has the Holy Trinity of Southern cooking in it (celery, onion, and garlic).  So you know it’s good!  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Crockpot BBQ Chicken

Tell Me What You Think!

