Another Fun Day in my City

We had a fun weekend Back in the Bush!

On Saturday, Shelbie and her boyfriend went to a Medieval Faire.  They had a great time, and they had this caricature drawn, which I think is adorable!

shelbiedusty

She captured Dusty perfectly!

While they were there, Elayna and I ran some errands, and when we got home we made homemade laundry soap and fabric softener.  I am lucky to have a helper to grate the bar of soap and then to melt it; that part is the only “hard” part of the process; and even that’s not really hard, just long and tedious.

sun1

Melting the grated soap.

sun4

Stirring the mixture.

sun5

This is the fabric softener.

I used lavender essential oil for both the laundry soap and the fabric softener; it’s one of our favorite scents.

Once we finished with all that, we rode the 4-wheeler for a while.  Then, it was time for dinner! 

Cubed venison steak, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, and corn.

sun2

Byron insisted I take a picture of his plate because it looked “perfect”, but he doesn’t eat corn! =O

sun3

So I’m sharing my plate as well, with yummy corn. Mmmm!

Hope y’all had a happy weekend as well!

Unknown Mami

6 thoughts on “Another Fun Day in my City

  1. The caricature is adorable! How awesome to make your own detergent and fabric softener. I pinned so many recipes. I keep thinking I am going to make some when we are retired because our income will be fixed and not what we are use to……LOL

    Like

  2. I used to go to the middvil fair growing up, it was always so much fun.. except the time they locked me up in the stockades trying to get my family to pay to throw water on me.. thankfully my family took pity and did not

    Like

  3. I make laundry detergent and fabric softener but mine don’t require cooking or stirring…hmmm. Fabric softener is the easiest as I just add some essential oil to a jug of white vinegar…done!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

