Happy Fragments

It’s been a little while since I’ve done a Friday Fragments post.  
I tend to be asleep about this time most Thursday nights,
and I just don’t get around to posting in time.  
But a work schedule change this week led to me being awake all day today,
and I was happy to realize that I was up at Fragging Time!

~ We have a new neighbor back in the bush!  Well, she lives about two miles away from us.  But back here, that’s a neighbor.  Byron and I went to middle and high school with her.  She messaged me on Facebook a couple of months ago telling me she was moving near us, and a few weeks ago she and her family moved into a beautiful home down the dirt road.  So today, I made a batch of snickerdoodles as a “Welcome to the ‘Hood” present, and Byron sent me out the door with a package of venison sausage.  I jumped on the 4-wheeler and was on my way.  I ‘dropped by’ and ended up staying for over an hour!  She and her family loved the cookies & sausage, and we’re both pretty excited to have a friend in the neighborhood.

~ Our pibble (pit bull), Bo, is over a year old but still 100% puppy.  He’s a sweet baby most of the time.
Earlier today he was antagonizing the cat.  At one point he had her entire head in his mouth!  Well, MamaKitty had enough and took a swipe at him.  Her claw caught his bottom eyelid and pulled it towards her; for a moment they were both frozen in that position!  But before I could even react, it came un-stuck and Bo is fine. Thank goodness!  I love that furry goofball.
And he was right back to annoying the cat a few minutes later.

bosleep

He’s so well-behaved…..when he’s asleep.

~ I’m going to go back to making homemade laundry soap, and this time I’m going to give fabric softener sponges a shot, too.  Byron is skeptical; he wants his clothes to smell really good and fresh, and he’s not sure that homemade stuff will work as well.  But I’ve convinced him that its such a money saver that it’s worth a try; if he absolutely doesn’t like it, we’ll go back to spending the money on the expensive stuff.  I used to make laundry soap years ago and it’s so inexpensive and works great; I think I’ll win him over!

~ This is SO me.  Mud & blood!

makeuptomud

~ This morning, Byron wanted me to go on a 4-wheeler ride with him.  It was COLD out and I was explaining to him that I cannot stand for my face to be cold.  So, he gave me this:

mask

PERFECT!!!!!

~ I found this on Facebook and it absolutely cracked me up!  Yep – I’m a NERD.

thatswhat

~ Lately, I am happier than I have been in quite a long time.   My little heart is peaceful and content.  This does not, by far, mean that life is perfect!  But life is GOOD, and only getting better.

happybird

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!
I hope your team wins the Superbowl (I couldn’t care less about it myself)!   

Half-Past Kissin' Time
14 thoughts on “Happy Fragments

  1. I love that you just go an hop on your four wheeler…bwhaahahaha. Oh you country folk.
    I’ve been saying for years that cats are evil.
    I’ve wanted to try making actual soap. It sounds like a great idea. Key word “sounds” and ain’t nobody got time for that 🙂

    Like

  2. I can tell from your post that you are in a happy place! That makes me happy for you 🙂 I remember riding on a 4-wheeler – so much more fun than a regular vehicle 🙂 But BRRRR, that can get cold. Love the face mask, hehe. And how sweet of ya’ll to bring over food to your new neighbors. That’s hospitality for you!

    Like

  3. That’s what she said! HA!! That’s awesome.
    That pic of you totally took me by surprise and freaked me out. That mask looks like something a serial killer would wear. 😉
    So glad life is treating you well. You deserve every happiness!

    Like

  4. I like your honesty about the superbowl. Nice mask! It highlights your eyes. Venison sausage sounds great did you make it yourself? Venison meat tastes and cooks up much better that cattle beef. Now it’s been a few years since I enjoy it at my brothers (the hunter) place.

    Like

  5. I don’t have a dog in the fight this year, sadly, but I look forward to the comercials.
    I’m glad you finally have a neighbor; I’m sure you’ll be great friends. I like that you dropped treats off; that’s an old fashioned thing to do that is still very much appreicated, and I try to do it when new neighbors move in.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

