Ten {Late} Things of {Late} Thankful. {Because I’m Late.}

Ten Things of Thankful

I am running late for TToT, but I have an excuse-  it’s been a busy couple of days around here!

This morning we went to a funeral; my mother-in-law’s cousin passed away.  She had been ill for a long time so it wasn’t unexpected, but of course it was still sad.  Her parents are both still living, and each time I saw her 85 year old father cry, I nearly burst into tears myself.  Nobody should bury their own child, ever, at any age.

Elayna’s birthday is coming up next week, and as part of her celebration/gift, she and I had a Girls’ Day Out yesterday.  We got pedicures, then went to dinner and a movie (Saving Mr. Banks).  This morning when I woke up, I found this on my dresser:

TY

It says: Thanks Mommy for the cheetos (just kidding). For the movie, pedicure, & Moe’s!

Which leads me to my Thankful list:

1. I am thankful that I have taught my kids to be thankful.  It makes me proud.

2. I am thankful for pedicures, because that was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

toes

We love our Purple Toes!

3.  I am thankful for purple nail polish, because it makes me smile every time I look at my toes.

4. I am thankful for massage chairs, hot water, and those fabulous little jets that shoot the hot water onto your feet.  It’s like a mini-hot tub, just for your footsies.

5. I am thankful for the nail techs who do the pedicures, and the fact that everyone in the world is not skeeved out by feet the way I am.  I couldn’t do pedicures, and I’m so thankful for those who can!

6.  I am thankful for the Free Movie pass I got from work!  It was only $7.50 for both of us to get into a movie.  Amazing!

7. I am thankful that I received the Pea Pod pendant that I won from Misty’s Mystical Jewelry.  I love it!

peapod

The pearl beads represent my 3 kids’ birthstones: Tim (March), Shelbie (December), and Elayna (January).

8. I am thankful for the Stuffed Bell Pepper Soup I made for dinner tonight.  It was my first time making it, and it turned out DELICIOUS.

9. I am thankful that my son came over to have dinner with us and loved the soup, too.  I knew he would; stuffed peppers are one of his favorite dishes.

10.  I am thankful for warm dinners, a warm home, and a warm bed to sleep in, which is what I am going to do right now!  Good night and have a wonderful weekend!

16 thoughts on “Ten {Late} Things of {Late} Thankful. {Because I’m Late.}

  1. Yo! Where’d you get this ‘late’ thing from? We’re open til the end of Sunday! You added this halfway through the hop!

    Lovely that you and your daughter have matching purple toes. That’s very cute. And the necklace is beautiful. It sounds as though you’ve been having some wonderful times with your family this week, and I expect that the funeral, though heartbreaking, was a good opportunity to reach out with love and encouragement to other family members, and strengthen the bonds there.

    I hope you slept well 🙂

    Like

  2. I was wondering about this “late” comment as well b/c that means mine was “really late”! I’m new to the hop but I think I read somewhere it’s a weekend of thankfulness :)! Love the everyday-ness of your list. The purple twinkle toes are fun!

    Like

  3. I have some purple nail polish, too, thanks to a friend buying it for me. I love it!
    Sounds like a great birthday date for the two of you. It’s so nice to be able to take the time for just one child. Especially when the child is so sweet and grateful for it.
    Stuffed bell pepper soup???? That sounds wonderful! I love stuffed peppers. Where is this recipe?

    Like

  4. yeah, (what Lizzi said)…the cool thing is that we all look for the new posts to arrive right through Sunday! Kinda like eating raisin bran… you’re almost finished, just a little more milk in the bowl and it’s ‘oh! what’s this?’
    lol

    Like

  5. You’re not late!
    I’m sorry about your mother-in-law’s cousin. You’re right; it is so hard when parents bury a child–no matter how old that parent or child is.

    What a sweet note your daughter wrote you! It sounds like you had a great time together with the pedicures and movie.

    Like

  6. I have never had a pedicure, because I have this thing about some stranger messing with my feet and also because I might get some kind of foot crud from the equipment. But it would be fun to do that with my daughter, so maybe I should get over it? (My daughter writes sweet notes like that for me, too. Love them!)
    Free movie passes are da bomb; it costs a FORTUNE to see a movie!
    Love the pea pod necklace! What a clever idea.
    Mmmmmm, soup!

    Like

    • I hate feet and won’t touch other peoples’, but I have no problem with people touching mine. I’ve seen them clean the equipment after each pedicure so I don’t worry too much about cooties. They really are nice, and relaxing! They massage your feet and legs, and you usually sit in a massage chair, with your feet in a little mini jacuzzi….ahhh!

      Like

Tell Me What You Think!

