Wrapping Up 2013

This year I met the Ten Things of Thankful girls, and I’m so glad I did.  I don’t participate every Saturday, but I really enjoy it when I do sit down and list my 10 Things.  I love Thankful posts.
One of the TToT girls, Joy from I Can Say Mama, created a Wrapping Up 2013 Blog Hop.  It’s a good one, lots of good questions here to reflect on the past year.  I’ve had a lot of life changes this past year, so this was a good Hop for me.
Enjoy!

Joy @ i can say mama: 2013 Wrap up

1) Gained or lost weight?

Both, ending on a loss!  Yay!
This year for the first time since weight loss surgery in 2008, the scale began to creep towards a number I promised I’d NEVER go over again.  So, I quickly made some changes and lost even MORE than I’d hoped to lose; I’m back down to my lowest post-op weight.  I hardly even have a cupcake top now!  And I’m very happy about that!

2) Predominant feeling in 2013?
Positive: Happiness.  Negative: Frustration.

3) Predominant feeling for 2014?
Positive: Gratitude. Negative: Determination.

4) Something you did for the first time in 2013?
Helped skin & butcher a deer.

5) Something you did again in 2013 after a long pause?
The only thing I can think of is, cooked venison.  I had only cooked it once before, many years ago.  This year I have become quite the venison chef!

6) Something you unfortunately did not do in 2013?
Umm, win the lottery?

7) Word of the year?
Quiet.  Late last year, we moved out to our property way back in the woods.  It’s quiet and peaceful, and it’s home.

8) City of the year?
St  Augustine will always be my favorite city!  And that’s where we got married (Vilano Beach).

9) Hair longer or shorter?
Mostly the same, maybe a bit longer.

10) More or less money spent?
More.
11) Highest mobile phone bill?
They’re the same each month.

12) Hospital stays?
Aside from my 36 hours each week at work….my dad had an MI (heart attack) this year and it required two hospital stays.  He’s doing very well now!

13) (Fallen) In love?
I did that late last year, and married him this year.

14) Most called person?

My husband, I’m sure.  Any time we are not together, we are on the phone, very frequently.

15) Whom did you spend the most beautiful time with?
I can’t pick just one.  My family, husband, and best friend, all of them.

16) What did you spend most of your time with?
Books.  And my iPhone.

17) Song of the year?

“God Gave Me You” by Blake Shelton, we played it at our wedding.


18) Book of the year?
This is way too hard….I love books and read constantly.  However, my favorite author Wally Lamb released a book this year so I will have to choose that one!  It’s called We Are Water.

19) TV show/movie of the year?
My latest favorite TV show is Chopped.
Movies: Hangover III, and Silver Linings Playbook which is apparently a 2012 movie but I saw it this year.

20) Insight of the year?
The people who truly know me, love me.  The rest….aren’t important.

21) Three things you totally could have done without?
We lost three loved ones this year: my father-in-law, my aunt, and my uncle.  Losses are just hard.

22) Most beautiful event?
My wedding, of course.

23) More short-sighted or more far-sighted than 2013? 
Well….my son was trying to show me something on his phone and I had to ask him to make it bigger for me.  So…yeah.
24) The most dangerous thing you did?
Got up close and personal with a water moccasin (poisonous snake).

25) The most expensive thing you bought?
I can’t think of any one big thing bought this year.  Our wedding wasn’t terribly expensive, and the rings were bought last year.
Maybe all the stuff we’ve bought  for our home, if added together.

26) The most delicious meal or food you ate?
It’s a toss up between bacon-wrapped venison and my all time favorite, crab.

27) The best party?
When we came back to town after our wedding, my mother-in-law had organized a little reception at her home with all of our families and close friends.  It was great!

28) The most important thing you wanted to convince somebody of?
That she deserves better than the treatment she is receiving, and not to worry about what other people think of her…..

29) The most beautiful present you gave to somebody?
His wedding ring.
30) The most beautiful present that somebody gave you?
My wedding set, and my bracelet from my husband and kids.

31) The most beautiful sentence someone said to you?
“I do.”

32) The most beautiful sentence you said to someone?
“I do.”

33) How will you celebrate New Year’s Eve?
I work that night, so I will barely even notice the incoming New Year.

34) What will you have for dinner?
Probably a Lean Cuisine, the usual work meal.

35) What drinks will be in your glasses to clink?
Diet Dr Pepper!

36) Will you ignite any fireworks? 
I think that would scare the patients, and possibly set off the fire alarms…

37) What are you going to wear? Comfy or glamourous?
Scrubs are generally considered the Pajamas of work uniforms, so I’d have to say comfy!

38) Did you have any resolutions for 2013? And how about 2014? 
I’m not really into resolutions.  I do have plans for the first few weeks of this year; it’s past time for me to get my hair and nails done and maybe a new outfit.  Gotta get some fresh paint on the old barn!

39) What are your wishes for the new year?
PEACE.  For me, for my family, for the world..  No drama, no craziness, just PEACE.

40) In one word: 2013 was…
Lifechanging.  Is so one word!

Consider it wrapped – and just in time!  Happy New Year, Y’all!

4 thoughts on “Wrapping Up 2013

  1. Well, that is a very cool meme! It really does a great job of giving us an insight into your 2013. Love it!
    Happy New Year to you and your family! I hope you all have a wonderful 2014!

    Like

  2. Love it! My weight has crept up a bit and I’m on the – it’s time to seriously do something about it now phase!

    Happy New Year! May your 2014 be all that you’d like it to be

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

