Meatballs Roasting on an Open Fire….or something.

I had pretty much the perfect day today.
Now, prepare to laugh at what a simple girl I am, that the following constitutes my perfect day:

1. Slept in (of course).
2. Rode the 4-wheeler.
3. Did a little stocking-stuffer shopping.
4. Rode the 4-wheeler a little more.
5. Made spaghetti with ground venison meatballs for dinner.
6. Baked cookies.  A lot of cookies.
7. Enjoyed a lovely fire in my fire pit.
8. Watched a movie with my love.
9. Now Elayna and I are painting each others’ nails. (including toenails.  Those who know me well will understand – that is a BIG DEAL.)

Yep – that’s it, y’all.  A perfect day in this girl’s life!  Of course, the fine company of the girls and the hubby contributed to the perfect-ness.

It was my first time making meatballs with the ground venison; the only thing I’d made before with it was chili.  Hubby told me that they usually tend to be bland, but mine were ‘perfect’.  I seasoned them well and maybe even went a littttle heavy on the red pepper flakes.  But they were delicious!  I love cooking with meat that has never been shot up with chemicals or fed weird food or eaten pesticide-covered food.  They also lived a peaceful, natural life until it was humanely ended for my dinner. I don’t remember the last time we’ve bought meat for the house; we use venison and wild hog almost exclusively at home.

perfect2

Deer Balls.
What?

 

I love living out in the woods on dirt roads so that we can ride around on the four-wheeler and not disturb anyone.

We made peanut butter cookies with Hugs AND Kisses.  After we put the candy on top, we popped them back in the oven for a minute to melt the chocolate, and the Hugs melted way faster, FYI, in case you decide to try them.  They look a little like striped nipples.  I’m just saying.
But they taste very good!

cookies5

PB with hugs & kisses

perfect3

Hubby’s favorite – melt-in-your-mouth Snickerdoodles!

While sitting by the fire pit, I blasted Christmas songs from the truck radio.   Wearing a t-shirt.  It was 70 degrees out.

perfect1

Elayna is currently painting my toenails purple, and we are watching Chopped.  She’s also making me laugh till I cry.

Life is good!  

Visit Unknown Mami for more Sundays in my City posts.

Unknown Mami

9 thoughts on “Meatballs Roasting on an Open Fire….or something.

  1. Well you have been busy and it sounds like a fun day! I still have some baking to do and some fresh sweet bread has to wait until Tuesday. I will be wrapping presents today. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

    Like

  2. I never used deer for meatballs. Why not? However, a Thanksgiving tradition in our familly is deer backstrap wrapped in with jalapeno and bacon, then grilled. This year, we added wild pig to the menu as well. Enjoy!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

