Fraggin’ Around the Christmas Tree

Half-Past Kissin' Time

~ It just occurred to me that my last two blog posts were titled using lyrics from Christmas songs (well, remixed), so of course I had to do the same with this one to continue the theme!

xmasstar

~ Tonight Elayna played the flute in the high school’s Winter Concert. She is in seventh grade and plays in her middle school band, but they were a part of the high school’s performance.  I’m so proud of her, and feel fortunate to say I am very proud of all three of my kids.  Along with me and Byron, my niece, my Mom, and my Mother-in-Law all attended the concert.  We had a good time!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

xmasstar

~ I watched the Duck Dynasty Christmas special and while I enjoyed it very  much, I have to say I was thoroughly unimpressed with Jessica, Jep’s wife.  She went hog hunting with Phil after bragging that she was country to the bone and that Phil wouldn’t be calling her a Yuppie any more after that.  Well, she was a complete ditz out in the woods, playing on her phone, chit-chatting, and complaining about being bored.  Then she was a total WUSS once Phil shot a hog.  She didn’t even want to touch it, and was gagging and the whole nine yards.  While I haven’t gone hunting with Byron, I’ve gone with him to retrieve both hogs and deer, and help him with the entire process from there (skinning, butchering, packaging) and then of course, I cook the meat.  I do not gag, and I ‘most certainly don’t whine.  Basically, I am a far superior Hunter’s Helper, thankyouverymuch.
Yeah, I know it’s “reality TV” and possibly scripted, but I still get to rant about it.  And Jessica is definitely still a Yuppie!

xmasstar

~ I would have to say that yesterday (Thursday) was one of the best days I’ve had in a while, and I’m looking forward to a fun-packed weekend!  Hope y’all have a good one, too.

xmasstar

11 thoughts on “Fraggin’ Around the Christmas Tree

  1. I am from Louisiana, and I know many fans of the show. I am not a fan. I do like their values, though. My familiy’s menfolk shot a pig a few weeks ago. Wild pigs are becoming more than just a nuisance, aren’t they?

    Like

  2. So glad that you had a wonderful day yesterday! And congrats to your daughter. I was a flute player in middle school and it s a beautiful and difficult instrument! She looks lovely, BTW!
    🙂
    Traci

    Like

  3. You certainly are being mysterious lately. What a tease you are in your last two posts! Care to share why Thursday was so fabulous??? 😉
    Yes, you are a far superior hunter helper. Plus you are a nurse and a mom so I bet you really aren’t very squeamish at all. 🙂

    Like

  4. I would have found that frustrating too!! Don’t go out to prove a point and then purposefully blow it! But we do enjoy that show quite a bit 🙂 Yay for Elayna’s concert!! That is actually something I miss with the kids being homeschooled. I loved playing concerts in the orchestra and seeing my parents in the audience was great!! I love her dress!

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

