Jingle All the Way ~~ Old School Blogging

Joining in with Old School Blogging because it’s FUN
and I need to remember to do this every time!

First things first: 1 Holy Night or 8 Crazy Ones? (Do you Celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, both?)

One Holy Night.

Peppermint or Chocolate?

Chocolate, lots and lots of chocolate.

 Sing us into the Holiday Season, what is your favorite Carol this time of year?

I love Away in a Manger, it makes me cry every time.  And Silent Night.  And O Holy Night.  OH AND!!!
I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas!

Tell us about a Favorite Family or Personal Holiday Tradition.

When I was younger, very few people had elaborate Christmas light displays.  Every year on Christmas Eve, my parents would take us to see one really amazing display, and then we’d go to a duck pond nearby and feed the ducks.  I take my kids around to look at Christmas lights every year, and it’s fun, but  not quite as awesome because it’s like “There’s one!  Oh, there’s another one!  Oh, that one’s cool…..”

C’mon you remember your favorite  (Christmas, Hanukkah) gift, tell us all about it:

It was a huge dollhouse, and I kind of cheated because my parents always wrapped all of our gifts.  This particular year, I woke up very early and wanted to look under the tree and see if Santa had arrived yet.  And there was the dollhouse!  I was so excited, but I felt guilty for seeing it early!
And my favorite early Christmas gift?  My first daughter, born on December 19th.

That magical moment? (Your favorite scene from a Holiday movie…it’s okay if you have 2)

The scene where Linus explains to Charlie Brown what Christmas is all about.  I choked up just now, reading it.

Kissing under the mistletoe?  Who do you hope is standing underneath (We know it’s normally your spouse, if it did not have to be, who would you choose?)

I’m still a newlywed, I really do want to kiss my hubby under the mistletoe!  But if I MUST choose…..

nunez

Chris Nunez of Ink Masters, and formerly Miami Ink. Yum.

Swans a swimming, lords a leaping, golden rings; which gift of the 12 days of Christmas would you like most?

I would have to say french hens, because I’d really love to have some laying hens to give me fresh eggs.

Play Secret Santa, what inappropriate gift would you love to give this year?

achmed

Jingle Bombs, Jingle All the Way!

Martha Stewart or the Grinch? What is your decorating style? (Pictures would be awesome!)

Definitely leans more towards Grinchy.  I have a crappy attitude towards Commercialized Christmas.  I’m TRYING to get better, but this year I really kept the decorating to a minimum, thinking while I was decorating: “the less I put out, the less I have to take down.”  A lot of this lack of Christmas spirit is due to the fact that I don’t have young kids; my baby is almost 13.  She stopped believing in Santa a few years ago, and Christmas just becomes less magical for me once the kids are older.
Maybe once I have grandkids, I’ll get more Christmas Spirit back!

What is ONE WORD that defines the holiday season for you? (Examples: Believe/Wonder/Bah Humbug?)

Family.

 If Santa could assure its delivery, what’s the first thing on your holiday wish LIST?

achmed

I would love to elaborate, but…I must plead the 5th.

10 thoughts on “Jingle All the Way ~~ Old School Blogging

  1. Oh how I love Achmed…he’s the BEST inappropriate gift ever!!!!!
    Charlie Brown, sigh, yes, you’re right that is one beautiful cinema moment. Agreed.

    also, I want a hippo for Christmas, I sing it constantly around the house and giggle myself into laughter.

    thank you for playing along and coming to our Holiday Party. I appreciate you being here. MERRY CHRISTMAS!

    Like

  2. I love the tradition that you created for your family 🙂 My husband has an “ugly Turkey clock” gag gift that they pass around each year as part of their Christmas gift opening tradition. Me, personally, I kind of like the turkey clock, but I’m goofy that way 🙂

    Like

  3. We just watched the Charlie Brown Christmas last night and I almost started to cry at sweet Linus… so precious! And I also got a doll house one year that I loved! Thanks for linking up and Merry Christmas!! 🙂

    Like

  4. I just love this Christmas meme. I think I’ll join in.
    As for Linus, he makes me cry EVERY time. I’m almost crying now just thinking about it. Love it.
    When I was in high school I thought my mom was turning into Scrooge because she didn’t even want to put up a tree anymore. I was the youngest of six kids so after going all out (and hosting the Thanksgiving/Christmas dinners for our whole family) she was worn out after doing it for 30 years in a row. Now I get it. Then I just thought she was cranky. 😉 For now I’m going all out. Just seeing my kids’ faces light up when they see all the decorations is worth it. We’ll see how I feel when they are older. 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

