Thankful Fragments

Half-Past Kissin' Time

~ Hope y’all had a great Thanksgiving!  It was FREEZING here; it got down into the 20’s early Thanksgiving morning, but it did warm up quite a bit throughout the day, for which I was THANKFUL!

thanksMe

This morning I was thankful for WARM hoodies!

~ My Cracker Barrel copycat Hash Brown Casserole was a success!  It was SO good.  In fact, I didn’t bring home any leftovers and I am TOTALLY regretting that, as I sit here craving my hash brown casserole!

~ The reason I didn’t bring home any leftovers is because the kids are with their dad for T-day this year, and I’m getting them tomorrow morning.  Then we’ll be going to my parents’ house for a post-Thanksgiving feast!  Also, my niece is taking Elayna to see Hunger Games.

~ All of the food was so good.  My MIL made green bean casserole, my mom made her fudge which we all LOVE, as well as a new recipe: German Chocolate Upside Down cake, which was DELICIOUS and I don’t even like traditional german chocolate cake.  My niece made a broccoli casserole that my husband could NOT stop raving about (I don’t eat broccoli so I can’t vouch for its delicious-ness).  My dad grilled some of Byron’s venison sausage.  Mmmm, good stuff!

~ Somehow, in all the eating and playing, I only managed to take one picture…..of the Turkey Bread I got from Publix.  It’s become a tradition, so I had to take a picture before we ate it.

turkeybread

It looks burnt, but it’s just the poppy seeds.
I ate his leg.

~ I had so much fun crawling around on the floor with Hayleigh, and making Alexis smile by telling her about the magic of chicken nuggets, french fries, and cookies.  Formula gets old after a while, ya know?

happyalexis

happyhayleigh

Happy Girls!  (pics stolen from their Mama’s Facebook page since apparently I only photograph bread.)

~ On Thanksgiving Eve afternoon, I went out to lunch with my Best Friend, Danielle.  We hardly ever do that and I was so glad to have that time to catch up, although of course, it’s never enough.  Fortunately, I get to see her again on Sunday for her daughter’s 18th Birthday Party!  I can’t believe our kids are growing up so fast.  Danielle and I have been friends since we were about 15 years old!

danielleme

~  That morning, I had my first physical therapy session.  They did ice and massage therapy.  It felt really good at the time, and for about 30 minutes afterward; then my back started spasming.  That did not feel good AT ALL.

~ That afternoon, I went grocery shopping at Publix.  On the Wednesday before Thanksgiving.  Do I get a medal for that?
I just smiled at everyone and waited patiently in any “traffic jams”.  There’s just no sense in trying to hurry and being impatient/grouchy in a situation like that!

~ Last night I had a crazy dream.  I dreamed that we had a rarely used extra room in our home, and one day I went in there to find it infested…..with….TURTLES.  (for those of you who don’t know, I LOVE turtles.)  There was a Mommy turtle, a Daddy turtle, and DOZENS of babies.  The babies bit our toes when you walked into the room!  Once we opened the door, they spread throughout the house, and my home was full of adorable, toe-biting baby turtles.

Anyway!
I am thankful that I have so much to be thankful for!
Hope y’all have a wonderful and long weekend! 

10 thoughts on “Thankful Fragments

  1. Love the pictures of the babies! It’s been freezing here too. We’re like almost 20 degrees below our average for this time of year. It’s going to be a long cold one!

    Like

  2. Yes, you get a medal for shopping on Wednesday! I’m glad the casserole was a success and that you had fun with those two cuties! Enjoy your weekend with your kids,
    Happy FF!
    🙂
    Traci

    Like

  3. I love this post! So happy! And according to your dream you are super happy lately too. To me, that dream means that you are feeling extra blessed lately. 🙂
    Beautiful picture of you too! Love it!
    I had to go grocery shopping on Wednesday afternoon too. The hubby first came home from deer hunting up north Wednesday afternoon so I had to wait for him to get home so that I didn’t have to take all 4 kids with me to the store. That would have been real madness. The store was crazy but everyone seemed to be in a good mood so it was fine.
    Hope you and your kiddos have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. I had to run out to the store on Wednesday to get napkins and votive candles. How that turned into a cart full of
    stuff is beyond me but the grocery store was well staffed and I was thankful.
    The babies are precious. Enjoy your encore dinner with your kids!

    Like

  5. You get have another meal again, enjoy! We only had the four of us and lots of food so we will be eating all weekend long…..I can’t wait. I love turtles too, that was an awesome dream…..

    Like

  6. Sounds like you had a great array of food. I was very pleased about all the delectable delights I had this year. I was a adventurous eater this year (which is a new leaf for me). I’ve heard of another place in New Mexico that makes a turkey bread, I think the idea is cool.

    Like

  7. Turns out I already have a recipe that’s pretty much exactly like your hashbrown recipe (except for the sour cream). YUM. If by “last night” you mean thanksgiving night, that’s really remarkable, because I know three different people who talked about the crazy dreams they had Thanksgiving night; maybe it was the turkey!

    Sweet babies…

    Sorry your back is giving you trouble; I hope you get some rest this weekend. Thanks for linking up.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

