Almost-Thanksgiving Fragments

Half-Past Kissin' Time

Who’s ready for Thanksgiving?  I know I am.  We’re having it at my Mom’s house this year, and my MIL will be joining us there.  I’m providing the potato dish, which I’ve decided will be a copycat recipe of Cracker Barrel’s Hash Brown Casserole.  I’ve never made it before but I LOVE that stuff so I’m pretty excited.  I will also bringing Turkey Bread which I get from the Publix bakery every year, and all the fixings for a salad bar.  What are your plans?

**************

Do you ever SO dread getting up and doing errands that it takes every bit of willpower you have to get ready and go?
And then, once you’re in the middle of it, you’re like, Hey, it feels really good to be getting this junk done??  That was me today.  I soooo did not want to drag myself up and out, but I got some stuff done that I’ve needed to do for a long time.  And I even hit up a thrift store, and brought pizza home for dinner.

**************

If you have a slightly twisted sense of humor, you may enjoy Textastrophe as much as I do.  Check it out, it cracks me up!

**************

Have you started decorating for Christmas yet?  Not me.  I believe in letting Thanksgiving have its place.  I don’t decorate until December.  I did buy two little decorations today.  They’re small wooden Christmas Trees.  I got them for a dollar each at the thrift store, but they won’t be displayed yet!

christmastrees
We’re going to keep it very simple for Christmas this year.  I hate all the consumerism and frantic shopping and spending.
I ain’t about that life.

*************

A lady at the barbershop told hubby that he has a twin.  She said that Byron looks identical to the character Huck on Scandal.  We don’t watch Scandal, so we googled him.

huck

There’s a resemblance, but it’s pretty safe to say my husband does not have a long-lost twin (especially since Byron is American and that guy is Hispanic).

*************

This is my first time linking up with Five on Friday as well!  Check it out ~~

Any fun plans for your weekend?  Doe days are starting here, which means hubby will be doing a lot of hunting.  And if all goes well, I’ll be doing a lot of helping with the skinning and butchering.  Other than that, I will be relaxing!  Hope y’all have a good weekend and Thanksgiving – don’t forget to tell me what your plans are and what you’ll be cooking or eating!!

13 thoughts on “Almost-Thanksgiving Fragments

  1. Textastrophe was cool.Loved it. I am living simple for Christmas this year. I made a commitment to myself some years ago that Christmas is not about stuff. It’s about celebrating Christ and enjoying community with friends and family.

    Like

  2. We’re having Thanksgiving at my MIL’s house. She lives nearby so it’s a relaxed day. The casserole looks good. We make something similar only we put crushed Corn Flakes mixed with butter on top. Very fattening but oh so good. I’m wondering what Turkey Bread is? I’ll have to Google it. Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • It’s bread baked into the shape of a turkey. I’ve only found it at Publix. Google Publix turkey bread and you’ll find an image, it’s goofy looking but cute and my kids say it is NOT Thanksgiving without it!

      Like

  3. Eesh, let’s hope Byron is NOTHING like Huck on Scandal. He’s a psychopath! (But, I admit, I’m addicted to the show, and really, he’s one of my favorite characters. Go figure!)

    Have a great weekend!

    xoxox

    Like

  4. Yes I agree with running those errands and the joy in getting them done! I like to wait until the day after Thanksgiving but had to start my trees because of the amount of ornaments and the time they take because of that trip to your neck of the woods 🙂

    Like

  5. I believe in letting each holiday have it’s own space and time. Besides that – I don’t have room to put out Thanksgiving and Christmas at the same time. LOL

    The link was cute! Of course, I have a slightly twisted sense of humor.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  6. For the first time in eight-years I am hosting Thanksgiving for twenty-two in our small house. Hubs and I are mustering as much
    creativity as we can. We are keeping it traditional my kids prefer it that way. The grandkids (cousins) pick their pollyannas after dinner
    and write their letters to Santa. It is a big deal for them.
    No Christmas here until after Thanksgiving either.
    I crack up with some of the ridiculous texts and honestly back in my early days of texting and word correction I was guilty of a few.
    My kids could blackmail me.
    Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

    Like

  7. Yes! I have lots of days where it takes all my willpower to run my errands. One of them was today. Start the shopping for Thanksgiving. At least get the turkeys. Yes, I said turkeyS. I have to host TWO Thanksgivings at my house (every year). One on Thursday and one on Saturday. Anyway, it was more difficult than I thought getting two large turkeys. Most of the turkeys were only 12-14 pounds and that just wouldn’t cut it. I had to have the butcher go in the back and check for more. Now I have to do the rest of my shopping on Wednesday when Todd gets home from hunting. Yikes!

    No decorations until December here either. The kids usually don’t like that rule but this year Thanksgiving is so late that after our Thanksgiving on Saturday it is already December! Win! Love those little wooden trees, though! 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

  8. I think I can safely say I never decorate until after Thanksgiving. We are kid-free and are having the meal and watching football with friends. I”m bringing sweet potato casserole and a broccole cheese casserole as well. I am having one of those days now. I have errands I need to do so I don’t waste my day off and I’m still in bed….

    Like

  9. Pingback: Thankful Fragments | Back in the Bush

  10. Looking forward to checking our casserole out. I did a lot of cooking tonight and saw a crockpot turkey-leftover dish I plan to make tomorrow, but I’m plan to pin your recipe 🙂

    I’m pretty sure I’ll never start Christmas decorating early unless I get a fake Christmas tree. I didn’t enjoy it when I had kids here to help, and I’m pretty sure that won’t improve this year.

    Errands….tomorrow. blech

    Thanks for linking up! Enjoy your time off 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

