Sundays in my City – Food Talk

Yesterday’s dinner was such a treat.  I made food that I’d never made before, and it was absolutely delicious.

We had my parents and mother-in-law over, and my son ending up coming too, which was great.

First of all, I made, and ate, the best chili I have ever tasted in my life.  I used deer burger and smoked deer sausage, and the usual chili ingredients (kidney beans, tomato sauce).  It was outstanding!  Everyone loved it.  I’ve been craving chili since it first got a little cool out, and this more than satisfied that craving!

I also grilled smoked deer sausage links on my indoor grill, and sauteed peppers and onions to go with it.  I also sauteed some mushrooms, and fresh zucchini and yellow squash that we got from the Farmer’s Market.  Last, I made fried okra and rolls.  I told everyone to come hungry because we had a pile of food.  Everyone loved all of it.

I love cooking for people.  I have a need to feed those who I love.  I have a need for them to enjoy it.  I also love food myself.  I’m a wanna-be foodie.  So, days like this are my favorite kind of days!

It was also beautiful outside, and my mom and I sat outside and talked for a good little while.  It’s so peaceful way out here.

My Mom brought her famous dessert, Chocolate Delight (recipe is at the end of this post).

We all sat around and slowly ate a little of this and then a little of that until we were ready to pop.  We watched the Gator football game, which isn’t even worth talking about on here.
I had planned to add some more pics to this post, but WordPress is giving me a hard time. So, I may try again later! A few readers asked for the Chocolate Delight recipe, so here ya go!

Chocolate Delight

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/2 cup sugar

1 stick butter

12 oz cool whip (divided)

2 boxes instant chocolate pudding

3 1/2 cups milk

8 oz cream cheese

1/4 cup sugar

Combine first three ingredients.  Press into 9×13 glass pan.  Beat cream cheese with sugar and enough milk to make it smooth.  Fold in half of cool whip.  Spread over graham cracker mixture.  Prepare pudding according to directions using 3 1/2 cups milk.  Pour over cream cheese mixture.  Refrigerate for 1-3 hours or overnight.  Top with remainder of cool whip; serve.

Chocolate Delight

Chocolate Delight
5 thoughts on “Sundays in my City – Food Talk

Tell Me What You Think!

