10 Things of Thankful

Yesterday did not start off well.
I had two very important events to attend:  an appointment, and Elayna’s Meet-the-Teacher.  I got up in plenty of time and got dressed.  It was pouring down rain, which does not make me happy, but out the door we went.
We got in the truck and Byron turned the key and guess what happened?
Nothing.  
By this time it was storming but he still tightened cables and then tried the jump box, while lightning flashed around us.
Still, nothing.

I waved the white flag.  I rescheduled my appointment and I missed Elayna’s Meet-the-Teacher.
And I went back to bed.

So, this incident has inspired my Thankful post today.

I am thankful for…..

1. Family (my stepson) who is willing and able to come help when we have these emergencies.

2. My mother-in-law having an extra vehicle that we can use in these emergencies.
(unfortunately this didn’t happen in time to help out with the things we needed to do yesterday, but at least we have it now.)

3. My husband, who helped cheer up an otherwise craptastic day.

4.  Living in the South.  Because the South has Publix.

5. And Publix had snow crab legs on sale for 7.99/lb.

6. Snow crab legs.  They are a little piece of heaven.

7. They also have butter pecan frozen yogurt.  Quick back story – since my gastric bypass surgery over 5 years ago, I haven’t been able to eat ice cream.  It makes me horribly sick.  I recently discovered that I can, however, eat Fro Yo.  And that has made my life a whole lot happier!

8. Visitors.  Although I truly love living Back in the Bush, it can get isolating at times.  We have had 3 times the normal amount of rainfall this summer, making our dirt road extremely difficult to drive down.  If you have a small car – forget it.  So when we  do get visitors, I really enjoy it.  Yesterday Byron’s aunt and uncle came by for the first time, and I was happy for the company.

9. The above mentioned dirt road is currently being repaired.  Once they’re done, it should be in really great shape and passable for any type of vehicle!  YAY!

10. I’m thankful that my appointment was easily moved to early next week.  I won’t let this little setback get me down; I am on a mission and I’m thankful for my hubby and family for encouraging me and supporting me.

~~ Go read more Ten Things of Thankful!  Post Your Own!  Have a good weekend!~~

Ten Things of Thankful
19 thoughts on “10 Things of Thankful

  1. While I knew you lived in the country, I had no idea you lived off a dirt road. That is the middle of nowhere!
    I’m very happy that you can enjoy frozen yogurt. I wonder why it is that ice cream makes you sick but fro yo doesn’t.

    Nice work, thinking of the thankful despite the bad start to the day!

    Like

  2. So happy for you that your appointment could be rescheduled!

    Happy that you were able to find happiness in your life still after the set backs and hope that you can get your truck fixed soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. I know when life gets me down I try hard to find things to be thankful for and I can usually find them. Sorry about the issues with the truck but glad you found your list of things to be thankful for. Have a nice weekend.

    Like

  4. yow! I have often wondered about people (on the occasion when flying and looking down and seeing the outline of a road that seems to just go on forever…ending in a ‘single’ house!).
    I like the idea of that kind of privacy, but as your List makes abundantly clear, it is not without it’s drawbacks.
    I like your response to the situation, to set things aside, accept that plans need to be changed and not fight it too much. (I am inclined to let something like that mess with my head way, way too long).
    Glad you’re here.

    Like

  5. YAY! for getting your transport fixed! So glad your husband was around to help when it all went wrong, and that the rescheduling worked out okay. I can’t imagine how frustrating that must’ve been!

    Glad you had some company. I’d be absolutely no good living in such an isolated place! Thank goodness for the internet, is all I can say! Love that you linked up in spite of a crappy few days, and SO glad you have lovely things like crab legs and FroYo to enjoy 🙂

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

