What I’ve Been Reading

I want to tell you about two books I read recently.

The two books had nothing in common; one was Young Adult Paranormal Fiction and the other was a non-fiction book about dementia.

.havenhallows_final (1)

The first book, Hallows Haven, was written by Melissa Brodsky, the author of one of the first blogs I ever read  when I first started blogging.  We go way back!  I was excited to read a book by a friend.  And I was not disappointed. It’s a really good book!  In a nutshell, it’s about a teenage girl living her normal life of cheerleading, girlfriends, and boyfriends, while at the same time discovering and adjusting to her newfound supernatural powers.

I was truly impressed with Melissa’s writing!  She is amazingly talented.  Although it is not my usual genre, I absolutely could not put this book down.  And when I reached the cliffhanger ending, I emailed her immediately!  LOL  I can’t wait till part two comes out shortly.  I wholeheartedly recommend Hallows Haven!  Bonus – it’s on sale for $1.99 until August 15th on Amazon.

Touchthespirit

The second book was called Touch the Spirit.  The subject matter may not appeal to everyone, but I definitely recommend it to anyone  who has a loved one with dementia, or those who work with dementia patients.  I learned a lot about caring for dementia patients (not physically but mentally and emotionally), dementia itself, prevention, and treatment.  I found myself nodding along to many of her descriptions and examples.  Dementia makes me angry.  It’s not fair, it’s an evil thief .  But this book did help me with understanding and accepting it, and doing my best to care for those affected by dementia, and how to connect with them on a spiritual level.  There are ways to reach them that you may not know about, and it can unlock doors and allow you to communicate with them on a whole new level.

While I was reading it at work, a nurse friend asked me about it; her mother is suffering from dementia.  Now that I’ve finished it, I’m going to drop my copy off for her.  I think it will be a great help for anyone who has a parent with dementia.

I was not compensated for this post – just given the books to review.

Read any good books lately?

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Reading

  1. I am going to check out the second book. My mother has dementia. I am having a hard time dealing with her. Quite frankly because I do not understand.
    If you like Paranormal books try Kresley Cole: Immortal Series. I don’t recommend it for young adults though.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing about the books. I love reading books from fellow bloggers and will have to check the first one out. As well as the second, because my aunt has dementia.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

