What is it about a fire?

One of my very favorite things to do is to sit outside by the fire.

fire3

My mother-in-law gave me a firepit for my birthday.  Any night that I’m not working, and it’s not raining, you will find me sitting by my firepit, feeding the flames.

fire1
I burn boxes (mostly the cartons from our 12 packs of Diet & Regular Dr Pepper, of which there are MANY), and whatever wood I can find.  We live in the woods, so that’s not a difficult task.  It’s also a win/win; I get all the brown, dead branches and sticks out of the yard, trees and bushes so that it looks nice, and I have materials to burn.  I’m glad we are so far back in the woods that we don’t have neighbors to complain about the smoke.

fire2

I turn my fairy lights on, light the fire, and sit in a chair, sipping sweet tea and watching the fire burn.  I can’t explain why, but I absolutely love it.  It is my happy place.  It’s so relaxing and enjoyable.  I love for someone to join me, but I am also content to sit out there by myself.

fire4
I sometimes text friends, scroll through Facebook, or read a book.  But mostly, I just think.  Or, not think at all.  Sometimes I just clear my mind and relax.
I can’t explain it.  I don’t know what it is about a fire that I find so enjoyable.  So relaxing.  So comforting.

But, I do.  I love the way it smells, the way it sounds, the way it looks.

I have made the area around my firepit “my spot”.  I’m starting a rock garden there, I have several plants around, lawn decorations, and fairy lights hanging from the trees.  It’s a work in progress.  I feel very content, sitting in my spot and looking around at my pretty things.

What about you?  Do you like fires?  Do you have a “happy place”?  What do you do to relax?

9 thoughts on “What is it about a fire?

  1. I have a friend who has a fire pit in her backyard and often entertains back there around it. For me though, fires just make me nervous, not relaxed, and I hate when the smoke blows my way and gets in my eyes. If it’s a chilly day, I do like the warmth of it, but not if it’s a hot day.

    My happy relaxing place is on my front porch.

    Like

  2. Oh YAY! I’m embarrassed that it took me a sec when you commented to figure out you were you. DUH! You’ll have to get me your email so we can discuss you using wordpress… I have questions!

    As to fire… I enjoy the firepit as well. I have one in my backyard but I confess I don’t use it near enough. Maybe we’ll do a campfire night tonight… If I’m ambitious, I’ll even pop the tent for the children! 🙂

    Like

  3. Love watching a fire as well…it’s very relaxing, so peaceful and just mesmerizing. It’s a great place to sit and just think or like you said, just sit and not think LOL My favorite place to relax is on my deck (we have a huge wrap around deck that goes all the way around the house) first thing in the mornings when the sun is just coming up with a cup of coffee in hand. It’s so peaceful. This morning I got a treat, a momma deer and her 2 babies were in the yard just eating the grass and berries off the tree’s. Makes for a beautiful start to my day!

    Like

  4. We don’t have a store bought fire pit, we have a “there used to be a tree here but it was dead and we cut it down and burned out the stump” fire pit. I think living in the woods, you almost have to have a pit to keep the debris cleaned up. We usually make piles and then I let the kids have some friends over and they burn the whole pile while they sit out there. Some of my favorite times have been spent out around the fire with a couple of kids on guitars playing while the kids all sing. (no singing for me – that would scare everyone away!)

    Like

  5. We love our fire pit. My son uses it as often as he can. Sadly, we DON’T live in the woods, so our wood has to be purchased by the bundle, usually at the local grocery store. 😛 As much as I enjoy sitting around our fire pit on our cement patio (!) it’s not nearly the same as sitting around a fire in the woods. On the upside, there’s not much that can catch fire on the cement. =)

    Like

  6. We absolutely love fires in the yard. As soon as we are done with the pool and the weather gets cooler we are building a fire pit this year. Our little fire pit is on it’s last leg. My husband goes through them like crazy so we figured it was time for a permanent one 😉

    Like

  7. I have to be honest… I don’t like fires 🙂 And I don’t like the smell of smoke. But I understand your enjoyment of it. My husband is the same way, loves campfires, etc. I don’t know if I really have a quiet place. It used to be the craft area. But with the baby, now…. there’s no time for crafts.

    Like

Tell Me What You Think!

